Walt Disney World vs Disneyland

People probably realise I am a HUGE Disney fan and I love going to Walt Disney World. I can’t remember how many times we have been! Now, Disneyland is a different matter, I have been just four times, most recently in the fall of 2016. I thought it would be interesting to compare some of the attractions which are at both parks.

Disneyland park is the original park which Walt built (with his brother Roy of course) it is a much more intimate experience than its counterpart at WDW, the Magic Kingdom. Their centrepieces are both castles, however, Sleeping Beauty Castle at Disneyland is much smaller than Cinderella castle at MK. Walt did not want people to see the castle at DL until you entered the park and walking downMain Street USA, unlike at WDW you are drawn into the castle as you approach the park from the TTC on the monorail or boats across Seven Seas Lagoon.

When I first started this post I was planning on comparing the attractions are WDW and DL, however, it is not that easy!!! Both resorts are so different in size, WDW has four parks and covers an area of approx. 47 square miles, whereas Disneyland has just two parks and there are so many attractions to compare.

Some of my favourite attractions at WDW can also be found at DL.

I love Toy Story Midway Mania, these attractions are the same at both parks, although I think that the queue area at WDW is more interesting (at least before the second track was added, which I am yet to experience).

Hollywood Tower of Terror is very different at DL as it has the same drop pattern each time, unlike WDW where it is random each time.  It has recently been re-themed to Guardians of the Galaxy – Mission: BREAKOUT!. I am glad I got to experience this attraction once more before it was re-themed.

Another favourite is the Haunted Mansion, these do differ, the land in which they sit is different, at DL the Haunted Mansion is in New Orleans Square compared to Liberty Square at WDW.  Also, the stretching rooms differ between the two, “Is this haunted room actually stretching? Or is it your imagination, hmm?”. Spoiler…At DL the ride is below ground so it is an elevator which takes you down, but at WDW there is no need as the ride is on the same level, so it does actually stretch…well the ceiling goes up!

At DL they had Hyperspace Mountain (this has recently returned to classic Space Mountain) which I was looking forward to, I don’t recall riding this attraction on previous visits, although I am not a fan of Space Mountain at WDW as I find it too jerky. At DL they have a different ride vehicle, instead of sitting in a single row you sit two aside.

Soarin’ used to be another favourite, however, it has since been overhauled and has a new film, Soarin’ Around the World.  I was a little apprehensive over this new film and just hoped that I still loved it as much…well I have to say I much prefer the original Soarin’ 😦 don’t get me wrong, it is nice to see something different but there was a lot of distortion, depending on where you were seated.  I would love to see both films played so you can pick which one you want to experience.

The Disneyland Monorail differs to WDW, it is more of an attraction at DL, as opposed to a mode of transportation at WDW.  You can also ride up front with the driver at DL, which I got to do 🙂 img_6395

Some other attractions which are unique to DL are:

There are similarities between the attractions, but also very big differences.  A few of my other favourite attractions which can be found at both WDW and DL are:

I like the fact that both resorts have these similarities as well as their unique attractions.

If you are interested in both Walt Disney World and Disneyland I highly recommend the Disunplugged podcasts. The weekly shows are fun and informative and the history segments by Michael Bowling are fantastic.

Another great podcast if you want to know more about Walt Disney and the building of the Disney parks is Connecting with Walt, part of the DIS Unplugged podcast network, hosted by Michael Bowling.  Michael’s knowledge of Disneyland is amazing and the pairing with Craig Williams makes for a fantastic show, I would highly recommend it.

Let me know your favourite attractions at Walt Disney World and Disneyland.

Emma x

Leave me a reply

